Sinti & Roma

"Gypsies" come to Bern in 1414 (miniature from the Spiezer Chronicles of the 15th century, source: Burgerbibliothek Bern)

Sinti and Roma have lived in Europe for centuries. They form historically established minorities in their respective countries of nationality and call themselves Sinti or Roma, whereby Sinti refers to members of the minority living in Western and Central Europe and Roma to those of eastern and southeast European origin. Roma is used as a name for the complete minority outside German-speaking areas.

On the other hand, the term "Gypsy" is an exonym of the majority population whose origins date back to the Middle Ages and which is rejected by the minority as discriminatory. When it is used in the context of historical sources, the clichés and prejudices behind this term must always be borne in mind. The term cannot be clearly derived etymologically. It comprises both negative and romanticized imagery and stereotypes which are attributed to extant people. The term is therefore first and foremost a construct.

Sinti and Roma have been living in Germany for 600 years. The German Sinti and Roma number around 70,000 and are a national minority and citizens of this state. Apart from German, they speak the minority language of Romani as a second mother tongue.

Linguistic studies in the 18th century proved that the Sinti and Roma originated from India, because Romani is related to the ancient Indian high language, Sanskrit. However, different Romani languages developed in the respective native countries of the Sinti and Roma over the centuries, as was also the case with the German Sinti.

By the end of the 15th century, Sinti and Roma had been mentioned in records in almost every European country; the first mention in Germany was in the bishop's seat of Hildesheim in 1407. The council of the city of Frankfurt bestowed citizenship on one "Heincz von Mulhusen zyguner (gypsy)" as early as 1446.

"Gypsies or pagans" from Sebastian Münster's "Cosmography" (woodcut, 1550)

Initially, the members of the minority were protected by the authorities, who issued them with "letters of protection". Around the end of the 15th century, however, when late medieval society stood at the threshold of the Early Modern period and was going through a phase of profound political and social change, the Sinti and Roma began to suffer from increasing oppression and persecution. The guilds prohibited them from practicing trades and they were expelled from numerous areas.

It is important to note that Antiziganism and Anti-Semitism contained religious aspects from the very beginning; "gypsies" were often stigmatized as "pagans" or even accused of being in league with the devil. Like the Jews, the Sinti and Roma have repeatedly been made scapegoats for all kinds of ills ever since. Nevertheless, the surviving documents, in which the Sinti and Roma only appear as objects of state measures, convey a one-sided and distorted picture, because in parallel to the policy of marginalization, there were many forms of normal and peaceful coexistence among the minority and the majority population, as illustrated by the following examples from southern Germany:

In the second half of the 18th century, the names of so-called "Gypsy soldiers", including members of the oldest Sinti families in the Palatinate, can be found in the muster rolls of the Pirmasens Grenadier Regiments of Landgrave Ludwig IX.

Letter of safe conduct from King Friedrich III for Count Michel dated 15th April 1442

"If the here present Michel, Count of the Gypsies, should come to Our lands and the lands of the Holy Roman Empire and of Our other principalities together with his other men, and present this letter, We ask you, the subjects of our realms, amicably and earnestly demanding obedience, to allow the said Michel and his company to pass safely and freely through your and Our lands, and also permit them to buy and procure all their needs for money and not to accuse them without good reason nor allow anybody else to do so."

These and many other examples show that the reality of the lives of Sinti and Roma was fundamentally different from Anti-Ziganistic stereotypes which have been deeply rooted in the collective consciousness of the society of the majority for centuries and which the National Socialists also used for propaganda purposes.

Sinti & Roma

"Zigeuner" kommen 1414 nach Bern (Miniatur aus der Spiezer Chronik des 15. Jahrhunderts, Quelle: Burgerbibliothek Bern)

Sinti und Roma leben seit Jahrhunderten in Europa. In ihren jeweiligen Heimatländern bilden sie historisch gewachsene Minderheiten, die sich selbst Sinti oder Roma nennen, wobei Sinti die in West- und Mitteleuropa beheimateten Angehörigen der Minderheit, Roma diejenigen ost- und südosteuropäischer Herkunft bezeichnet. Außerhalb des deutschen Sprachraums wird Roma als Name für die gesamte Minderheit verwendet.

Der Begriff "Zigeuner" ist dagegen eine in seinen Ursprüngen bis ins Mittelalter zurückreichende Fremdbezeichnung der Mehrheitsbevölkerung und wird von der Minderheit als diskriminierend abgelehnt. Wird er im Kontext historischer Quellen verwendet, so sind die hinter diesem Begriff stehenden Klischees und Vorurteile stets mit zu bedenken. Etymologisch ist der Begriff nicht eindeutig ableitbar. Er beinhaltet sowohl negative als auch romantisierende Bilder und Stereotypen, die real existierenden Menschen zugeschrieben werden. Daher ist der Begriff zuallererst ein Konstrukt.

In Deutschland sind Sinti und Roma seit 600 Jahren beheimatet. Die etwa 70.000 hier lebenden deutschen Sinti und Roma sind eine nationale Minderheit und Bürgerinnen und Bürger dieses Staates. Neben Deutsch sprechen sie als zweite Muttersprache die Minderheitensprache Romanes.

Im 18. Jahrhundert wurde anhand sprachwissenschaftlicher Untersuchungen die Herkunft der Sinti und Roma aus Indien nachgewiesen, denn das Romanes ist mit der altindischen Hochsprache Sanskrit verwandt. In den jeweiligen Heimatländern der Sinti und Roma entwickelten sich jedoch im Laufe der Jahrhunderte unterschiedliche Romanes-Sprachen; so auch bei den deutschen Sinti.

Bis zum Ende des 15. Jahrhunderts wurden Sinti und Roma in fast allen europäischen Ländern urkundlich erwähnt; in Deutschland erstmals 1407 in der Bischofsstadt Hildesheim. Bereits 1446 verlieh der Rat der Stadt Frankfurt einem "Heincz von Mulhusen zyguner" das Bürgerrecht.

"Züginer oder Heiden" aus Sebastian Münsters "Kosmographie" (Holzschnitt, 1550)

Anfangs standen die Angehörigen der Minderheit unter dem Schutz der deutschen Obrigkeit, die ihnen "Schutzbriefe" ausstellte. Gegen Ende des 15. Jahrhunderts jedoch, als die spätmittelalterliche Gesellschaft an der Schwelle zur frühen Neuzeit eine Phase des politischen und sozialen Umbruchs erlebte, wurden Sinti und Roma zunehmend unterdrückt und verfolgt. Die Zünfte untersagten ihnen die Ausübung von Handwerksberufen, aus zahlreichen Gebieten wurden sie vertrieben.

Dabei fällt auf, dass der Antiziganismus wie der Antisemitismus von Anfang an religiöse Aspekte aufwies, indem man "Zigeuner" als Heiden oder gar als Verbündete des Teufels stigmatisierte. Wie die Juden, so wurden auch die Sinti und Roma in der Folge immer wieder zu Sündenböcken für alle möglichen Missstände gemacht. Allerdings vermitteln die überlieferten Akten, in denen Sinti und Roma lediglich als Objekte staatlicher Maßnahmen erscheinen, ein einseitiges und verzerrtes Bild. Denn parallel zur Politik der Ausgrenzung hat es vor allem auf lokaler und regionaler Ebene vielfältige Formen eines normalen und friedlichen Zusammenlebens von Minderheit und Mehrheitsbevölkerung gegeben, wie die folgenden Beispiele aus dem süddeutschen Raum verdeutlichen:
 
In der zweiten Hälfte des 18. Jahrhunderts finden sich in den Stammrollen der Pirmasenser Leibgrenadierregimenter des Landgrafen Ludwig IX. die Namen von so genannten "Zigeunersoldaten", darunter einige der ältesten Sinti-Familien der Pfalz.

Geleitbrief König Friedrichs III. für Graf Michel vom 15. April 1442

"Wenn der gegenwärtige Michel, Graf der Zigeuner, diesen Brief vorweisend, mitsamt seinen anderen Gesellen in unsere und des Heiligen Reiches Länder und unserer anderen Fürstentümer kommen wird, begehren wir von euch, den Untertanen unserer Reiche, mit besonderem Nachdruck gütlich und ernstlich gebietend, dass ihr eben diesen Michel mitsamt seiner Gesellschaft durch euer und unser Land sicher und ungehindert ziehen, auch sie für ihr Geld all ihre Notdurft kaufen und erwerben lasst und sie nicht zu Unrecht beschwert noch es jemand anderem zu tun gestattet." (Geleitbrief König Friedrichs III. für Graf Michel)

Diese und viele weitere Beispiele zeigen, dass die Lebenswirklichkeit der Sinti und Roma grundsätzlich von den antiziganistischen Klischees unterschieden werden muss, die seit Jahrhunderten im kollektiven Bewusstsein der Mehrheitsgesellschaft verwurzelt sind und die auch die Nationalsozialisten für ihre propagandistischen Zwecke benutzten.